Recent reviews

Relaxing cottage with lovely garden  5* of 5

A very pretty cottage with plenty of space for 4. Carol and Barry made us feel very welcome. There were home made scones, clotted cream and jam on our arrival plus flowers in every room. We had apples and blackberries from the orchard which were delicious. As I have mobility problems having a downstairs toilet was also a plus. We found the whole stay very relaxing and enjoyable but just a few minutes away from local amenities and Dawlish town centre. We relaxed in the lovely cottage garden in the evenings surrounded by countryside. I would definitely recommend this cottage, Carol and Barry are excellent hosts and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We will return!

Clare H

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Spacious and very well equipped. Easily sleeps 4 adults. 5* of 5

We had a short stay for 4 nights. The cottage is very well placed for visiting Dawlish Warren and all the resorts along the coast up to Paignton. For £5 per adult and £1 for a dog you can have all day return tickets on a bus from Dawlish Warren, through Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Maidencombe, Babbacombe, Torquay and finally Paignton. It was a nice break for the driver!

During our stay we had fantastic walks along the sandy beach even as far as the mouth of the River Exe opposite Exmouth. We ate out on two occasions, at The Welcome Inn and Mount Pleasant Inn, both in Dawlish Warren. Both places were very welcoming and dog friendly. The quality of food at both pubs surpassed my expectations of pub food even though both places were very busy. If going for lunch on a Sunday it is worth booking in advance.

Ian H

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Beautiful cosy cottage, ideal for touring around the Devon Coast.  5*of 5

What a lovely cottage, clean cosy homely, just what we wanted, it did not dissappoint atall we loved it. It was close to the coast and Exeter for shopping if wanted. The only thing wrong was our stay was only a short one would loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time as I hope we visit again. Highly recommended. The cream tea was a nice welcome sight too.

Francis W

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway

Lovely cottage and a very warm welcome  5* of 5

Very roomy house. Always clean, and good amenities.

Very helpful and friendly owners.

Close to beaches, and Shopping facilities.

Very pretty garden.

Carole T

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Lovely, well situated    5* of 5

Well equipped property with everything you could desire (even a washing machine which maybe you don’t desire). On the ground floor are separate lounge and diner as well as kitchen and as loo. Upstairs, two comfortable bedrooms and a bathroom in which you could hold a party. Outside, a nice fenced garden – great for the kids. Parking fine. It’s on a main road but no problem. Supermarket about 2 minutes drive away; bus stop about 2 minutes walk. Great scones on arrival!

David C

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Out of this World   5* of 5

This is the forth time we have stayed and each time its perfect ,The hosts Carol and Barry are a lovely couple , they cannot do enough for you , the cottage is clean and has everything you need even the childrens bedroom has 2 teddys for bedtime . To greet you with a Devon cream tea is a lovely extra .Thankyou John & Hazel xx

John C

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source:   Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Cosy accommodation for holiday in Dawlish  5* of 5

Sparrow’s Nest is a lovely holiday cottage very close to Dawlish. It was clean & comfortable for our week’s stay. The owners are welcoming & we enjoyed the cream tea awaiting our arrival.

The cottage is in a lovely location with a idyllic garden to use & fields all around and there are local walks to be enjoyed.

The cottage facilities are ideal for self-catering and the beds were very comfortable for a great nights sleep after a long day resting on the local beach.

We highly recommend Sparrow’s Nest and look forward to returning again in the future.

Louise P

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Spacious, very clean, thoughtfully equipped house.  4* of 5

The location of the property is good for visiting moors and beaches.

Lovely towns nearby.

Cottage is spacious and clean with lots of handy extra’s such as adapters for visitors from the continent, thermosflasks, lots of information about the area.

Very friendly and caring owners.

Good views over the hills from the backgarden.

We had to adapt to the speed of the wifi and the low water pressure. Apart from that a perfect stay.

Roland W

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway